Mike Patton’s (Faith No More) Band Mondo Cane Shares Cover Art for May 4 Release

Facebook Twitter Pinterest


SAN FRANCISCO, Mar. 22 – Ipecac Recordings shares the album art from Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane, a new entity for the inimitable vocalist that marries his instrument-like voice with a 40-piece orchestra, choir and band.
While Patton is known for a employing a wide variety of incarnations, Mondo Cane is unlike any of his previous projects.  First, and most obviously, Mondo Cane is an Italian language release.  The album also finds the singer paying homage to other songwriters, a first for the front man of bands as original and influential as Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk and Fantomas.  Discussing the eleven-song album, Patton explains “My purpose in revisiting these pieces is not to relive the past, not for nostalgia, but more to illustrate through modern and adventurous interpretation exactly how vital and important this music still is.”  
The collection includes The Blackmen’s Urlo Negro, a late 60’s song about the Civil Rights struggle, to Gino Paoli’s Senza Fine, made famous by Connie Francis, and on to Patton’s beloved Morricone who penned Deep Down for the film Danger: Diabolik in 1968.
The track listing for Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane:
1. Il Cielo In Una Stanza
2. Che Notte!
3. Ore D’Amore
4. Deep Down
5. Quello Che Conta
6. Urlo Negro
7. Scalinatella
8. L’Uomo Che Non Sapeva Amare
9. 20 KM Al Giorno
10.   Ti Offro Da Bere
11.   Senza Fine
Release date for the album is May 4 on Ipecac Recordings.
Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Comments are closed.