Runaway City Release Debut Album June 22, First Single Available Today

Facebook Twitter Pinterest



NEW YORK, NY (April 28, 2010) – Vertusent is getting ready to release Armored Heart, the debut album from Runaway City on June 22, 2010. This is Vertusent’s first signing to the newly formed label and their first release. 

Produced by Jason Elgin (Collective Soul, Terrible Things) at Synchromesh Studios in Birmingham, AL, Runaway City shines on their debut recording, which belies their young average age of 22 years old. From huge rock songs with massive anthems and chorus’ to beautifully melodic rock ballads, the band has crafted an album full of high quality, fully realized compositions, a true rarity in this day of flavor of the month songs.

The first single “Fade” is available on iTunes TODAY, Wednesday, April 28th, and will impact radio mid-May. With its anthemic chorus –  All the world could fade away / You’re the only one I’d miss if you were gone / I just can’t believe you don’t see what I see in you – is both uplifting and poignant, which is what the band is all about.

Ricketts offers, “We want ‘Runaway City’ to be a safe haven for people. Whether it be from a lyric of a song or something said from stage, we want to offer a chance to escape all the things going on in their lives and give them a glimpse of hope just for a moment to help them carry on with their day to day.”

And the name Runaway City carries that sentiment.  It comes from the accounts of ancient Israel. When someone committed a serious crime such as murder, that person had to run away to one of six cities of refuge in order to escape the vengeance of the victim’s family. In the city of refuge, one could seek safe haven until given a fair trial. The band explains, “By calling ourselves Runaway City, we want people to see hope. We want to be an escape for people from whatever they may be going through, even if it is for just a 3 minute song.”

Runaway City formed in the Greensboro, NC area, specifically a small town called Mount Airy, NC, which is the actual television home of The Andy Griffith Show aka Mayberry, USA. The quintet is made up of Tyler Ricketts (Guitar/Backup Vocals), Chris Burrow (Drums), Josh Edwards (Vocals), Jace Bowman (Lead Guitar), and Jon Thompson (Bass Guitar). 

Summer tour dates will be announced soon.

Track Listing For Armored Heart:
1. Daybreak
2. Scars
3. Fade
4. Longing
5. Try
6. Only You
7. Lately
8. No Escape
9. Save Me
10. More Than This




Vertus comes from the Latin word for truth. Label founder Derek Graham has combined it with entertainment to create Vertusent, with the inspiration for the company to represent honesty and integrity. He was attracted to Runaway City because of the deep, heartfelt meaning that comes through in their music. After meeting them, his conviction that they were wonderful people, really grounded and completely genuine, led to their being the first signing of the new label as the inaugural rock artist the company believes people can put their faith in, and believe in.



Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Comments are closed.