Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane Out Today, Faith No More Singer Releases Italian Album of Covers

Facebook Twitter Pinterest



SAN FRANCISCO, May 4 – Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane, a new entity for the inimitable vocalist that marries his instrument-like voice with a 40-piece orchestra, choir and band arrives in stores and on digital providers today.

The LA Weekly said of the eleven-song album: “the true Patton pop record that his acolytes have been waiting for all these years” and The New Yorker described the Italian language album as “operatic,” “buttery” and “soaring.”   The album finds the singer paying homage to other songwriters, a first for the front man of bands as original and influential as Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk and Fantomas.  Discussing the project, Patton explains “My purpose in revisiting these pieces is not to relive the past, not for nostalgia, but more to illustrate through modern and adventurous interpretation exactly how vital and important this music still is.”  

The collection includes The Blackmen’s Urlo Negro, a late 60’s song about the Civil Rights struggle, to Gino Paoli’s Senza Fine, made famous by Connie Francis, and on to Patton’s beloved Morricone who penned Deep Down for the film Danger: Diabolik in 1968.

The track listing for Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane:

1. Il Cielo In Una Stanza

2. Che Notte!

3. Ore D’Amore

4. Deep Down

5. Quello Che Conta

6. Urlo Negro

7. Scalinatella

8. L’Uomo Che Non Sapeva Amare

9. 20 KM Al Giorno

10.   Ti Offro Da Bere

11.   Senza Fine

Click here to see a live performance of Il Cielo In Una Stanza.


Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Comments are closed.