Edwyn Collins New Release, Losing Sleep, March 22 2011

Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Edwyn Collins’ Acclaimed Seventh Solo  Album Gets US Release Date

Losing Sleep Arrives Stateside March 22nd on Heavenly Recordings/ Cooperative Music USA/Downtown Records

Click HERE to Watch Video for “Do It Again” (Feat. Alex Kapranos and Nick McCarthy of Franz Ferdinand

“sheer brilliance.  #4 best album of 2010”

“A triumph.  4 stars”

2010 was a phenomenal year for indie icon Edwyn Collins.  The former frontman of Scottish post-punkers Orange Juice released his seventh solo album in the UK to massive acclaim.  Heralded by the British press as one of the best releases of the year, Losing Sleep will arrive on US shores March 22nd via Heavenly Recordings/Cooperative Music USA/Downtown Records.  The record features tracks co-written with Johnny Marr, Roddy Frame, Alex Kapranos & Nick McCarthy of Franz Ferdinand, Romeo Stodart of The Magic Numbers, Ryan Jarman of The Cribs and TheDrums and is the first album Edwyn’s written and recorded since his serious illness in 2005.

Edwyn has released a video for Losing Sleep track “Do It Again” (featuring Alex Kapranos and Nick McCarthy of Franz Ferdinand).  If you didn’t catch the premiere on Pitchfork, click HERE to watch it!

In 2005 Edwyn suffered a pair of life-threatening cerebral hemorrhages.   Incredibly, by October 2007 he was back on stage and then in the middle of a November night in 2008, the urge to write songs, which had deserted Edwyn since his illness, made an abrupt return.  It happened just that suddenly, to Edwyn’s joy.  Nowadays, he’s back to thinking about songs all the time, just as he used to before 2005.

Losing Sleep was recorded at Edwyn’s own West Heath Studios between November 2008 and May 2010 and produced by Edwyn and Sebastian Lewsley.  The pair have worked together since 1993 and more recently stood shoulder to shoulder as Edwyn has regained his studio skills.  The album also features Edwyn’s regular cast of band members – Paul Cook, Dave Ruffy, Carwyn Ellis, Sean Read, Barrie Cadogan, Andy Hackett, Luca Santucci and William Collins.
Edwyn is planning a US tour as well, with details to be announced shortly.


Losing Sleep track listing:

1.   Losing Sleep
2.   What Is My Role? (Co-written with Ryan Jarman)
3.   Do It Again (Co-written with Alex Kapranos & Nick McCarthy)
4.   Humble
5.   Come Tomorrow, Come Today (Co-written with Johnny Marr)
6.   Bored
7.   In Your Eyes (Co-written with The Drums)
8.   I Still Believe In You (Co-written with Ryan Jarman)
9.   Over The Hill
10.   It Dawns On Me (Co-written with Romeo Stodart)
11.   All My Days (Co-written with Roddy Frame)
12. Searching For The Truth




Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Comments are closed.