Herbie Hancock, The Imagine Project, June 22 Features Pink, Seal, Jeff Beck, John Legend, Dave Matthews & More

Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Herbie Hancock: The Imagine Project
(Hancock Records; June 22, 2010)

Herbie Hancock’s The Imagine Project is an unprecedented international recording and video project featuring collaborations with over a dozen superstars from every region of the planet. Utilizing the universal language of music to express its central themes of peace and global responsibility, the musical collaborations combine Hancock’s genre-defying musical vision with the “local” musical identity of cultures from around the world.   Footage from each recording session has been shot in each locale to be included in a documentary piece.  The Imagine Project is set for release June 22, 2010 via Hancock Records/RED (tracklisting below). There will also be a deluxe package released with the CD, DVD, 60-page color photo book, and The Imagine Project sheet music. 

Birthday tribute concerts will take place on June 24 at Carnegie Hall and September 1 at the Hollywood Bowl. Tour dates for The Imagine Project will be announced for the fall. 

The Imagine Project is the next step in Hancock’s extraordinary ground-breaking career, and builds upon his recent successes and recognition. (2007 Grammy for Album of the Year – “River/The Joni Letters”, Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World, multiple award-winning album/film, “Possibilities”, Jazz Chair for the Los Angeles Philharmonic, amongst many others). Award-winning producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Madeline Peyroux, Luciana Souza, Tracy Chapman, Melody Gardot and Hancock’s collaborator on “River”) has served as producer on a number of the album’s tracks. 

Music truly is the universal language,” says Hancock, “The Imagine Project will explore that concept across the globe, uniting a myriad of cultures through song and positive creative expression.  My hope is that the music will serve as a metaphor for the actions taken by the inhabitants of this wonderful planet as a call for world harmony on all levels.” 

The Imagine Project


1. “Imagine“featuring India Arie, Jeff Beck, Pink & Seal 

2. “Don’t Give Up” featuring Pink and John Legend 

3. “Tempo De Amor” featuring Céu 

4. “Space Captain” featuring Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks 

5. “The Times, They Are A’ Changin” featuring The Chieftans and Lisa Hannigan 

6. “La Tierra” featuring Juanes 

7. “Tamitant Tilay/Exodus” featuring K’Naan, Los Lobos and Tinariwen

8. “Tomorrow Never Knows” featuring Dave Matthews 

9. “A Change is Gonna Come” featuring James Morrison 

10.”The Songs Goes On” featuring Chaka Kahn, Anoushka Shankar and Wayne Shorter

official website | Facebook | Twitter | MySpace


Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Comments are closed.